The California Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) recently updated most of the Wage Orders to reflect the 2017 and 2018 increases in the state minimum wage. The updated Wage Orders include Wage Orders 1 through 13, 15 and 16. Wage Orders 14 and 17 have not been updated at this time.
The correct industry Wage Order bears a revision date of “12/2016,” which is found on the bottom of the cover page for each Wage Order. Although the revision date has changed, the Wage Orders will still be called Wage Order 1-2001, 2-2001, etc. (Although the Wage Orders are dated 12/2016, they were just released by the DIR.)
HRCalifornia updated its Forms and Checklists section to include all of the revised Wage Orders.
Updates Reflect Wage Increase
The DIR amended sections 4(A) and 10(C) in Wage Orders 1 through 13 and 15. The DIR amended sections 4(A) and 9(C) in Wage Order 16. To date, the DIR has revised only the English versions of the Wage Orders.
The updates show the state minimum wage for 2017 and 2018:
- Employers with 26 or more employees:
- $10.50 an hour on January 1, 2017
- $11.00 an hour on January 1, 2018
- Employers with 25 or fewer employees:
- $10.00 an hour on January 1, 2017
- $10.50 an hour on January 1, 2018
Future minimum wage increases are scheduled until the minimum wage reaches $15 per hour for all size employers by 2023.
The revised industry Wage Orders also reflect the updated meal and lodging credit amounts.
Note: After you determine the proper Wage Order for your business, you must post a copy of it in your workplace where employees can read it easily.
In January, the Minimum Wage Order (MW-2017) was also revised to reflect the current and upcoming minimum wage rates. The Minimum Wage Order is part of CalChamber’s California and Federal Labor Law Poster which contains all 16 required California and Federal Notices.
Need help determining which Wage Order applies to your business? Check out our Wage Order Wizard – free to nonmembers and members.
Staff Contact: Gail Cecchettini Whaley