Mexico 2018 Presidential Election Fact Sheet



The Mexican presidential **election** is **on July 1, 2018**, where a president will be elected to a single **6-year term**. The president-elect's **inauguration** will then be held on **December 1, 2018**.

The Candidates



Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador - leftist National Regeneration Movement (MORENA Party), which he founded

- In his 3rd bid for the presidency. In 2012 he finished with 31.6% of vote.
- Former Head of Government of the Federal District.



Ricardo Anaya - conservative National Action Party (PAN)

- Has formed a coalition with the left-leaning Democratic Revolution Party.
- Former President of the PAN party, and held positions in Mexico's Congress.



Jose Antonio Meade - Institutional Revolutionary Party (PRI)

- First non-member candidate of the PRI.
- Former Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Secretary of Social Development, Secretary of Energy, and Secretary of Finance and Public Credit.

All 3 candidates are expected to face competition from independents for the first time in modern Mexican history. Mexico only recently dropped a ban on independent candidates that dated back to the mid-1940s. Each collected 1 million signatures to qualify.

- Jaime Heliodoro Rodriguez Calderon
 - o Former rancher known as "El Bronco."
 - o Won Governor of state of Nuevo Leon as independent.
- Margarita Ester Zavala Gomez del Campo
 - Wife of former Mexican President Felipe Calderón.
 - Lawyer, two-time elected lawmaker.
- Armando Rios Piter
 - o Currently a Senator for the Mexican state of Guerrero.
 - Known as "El Jaguar" as he left the Democratic Revolution Party in 2017 to start the nonpartisan Jaguar Movement.