With the new year upon us, the California Chamber of Commerce is reminding businesses about all the 2017 employment laws by presenting handy summaries of new legislation now in effect that will affect the day-to-day operations of California employers.
Some of the new laws, such as the minimum wage increase, make significant changes to California’s legal landscape. Other new laws make small changes to different parts of existing law or may affect only employers in specific industries.
The short summaries below appear in a CalChamber white paper; for the full list of 2017 employment laws download the white paper here.
See an infographic highlighting important new laws below.
SB 3 will increase the minimum wage over the next several years to $15 an hour. For January 1, 2017, businesses with 26 or more employees must pay a minimum wage of $10.50 per hour.
The minimum wage increase will require all employers to post a new Minimum Wage Order (MW-2017). The upcoming minimum wage increase also will have an effect on other pay practices, such as the overtime rate.
Paid Family Leave Benefits
Effective January 1, 2018, AB 908 increases the amount of paid family leave (PFL) benefits an employee can receive from 55 percent of earnings to either 60 percent or 70 percent of earnings, depending on the employee’s income.
Paid Sick Leave
SB 3 extends California’s paid sick leave law to cover in-home supportive services workers beginning July 1, 2018.
AB 2393 provides specific rules relating to the interaction of sick leave and parental leave for school district employees working in positions requiring certification qualifications.
Juvenile Criminal History Information
AB 1843 prohibits employers from inquiring into an applicant’s juvenile convictions or using such convictions as a factor in determining any condition of employment.
Indoor Heat Illness
SB 1167 requires Cal/OSHA to propose a heat-illness and injury prevention standard for indoor workers by January 1, 2019.
A package of bills was signed earlier this year that extend the ban on workplace smoking. These rules took effect June 9, 2016.
CalChamber employment law experts will cover new state laws in more detail on HRCalifornia and in the 2017 California Labor Law Digest and will make the necessary updates to all CalChamber products.
Join CalChamber’s employment law experts for the 2017 Employment Law Updates seminars, a comprehensive review and discussion of recent state and federal court cases, new laws and regulatory changes.
2017 Employment Law Update seminars will be held at the following locations:
- Long Beach: Wednesday, January 11
- Los Angeles: Thursday, January 12
- Glendale: Friday, January 13
- San Francisco: Thursday, January 19
- San Jose: Thursday, January 26
- Oakland: Friday, January 27
Can’t make it to any of the seminar dates? Attend the 90-minute live webinar on January 31, 2017.
For more information or to register for this half-day seminar, call (800) 331-8877 or go online. The cost is $199 ($159.20 for CalChamber Preferred and Executive members).