San Diego Paid Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance Now in Effect

San Diego’s Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance took effect on July 11.

Voters approved the ordinance on June 7, but the effective date was delayed until the election results were certified.

Under the ordinance:

  • Employees working within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego must now be paid a minimum wage of at least $10.50 per hour.
  • The minimum wage increases to $11.50 per hour on January 1, 2017.
  • Beginning on January 1, 2019, the minimum wage will be tied to the Consumer Price Index and adjusted as necessary based on the cost of living.
  • Employers will also need to provide paid sick leave to employees working within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego.
  • Employers must post notices in the workplace regarding the ordinance.

The San Diego City Treasurer’s Office announced on July 14 that the City Council is considering an Implementing Ordinance for the Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance.

Key changes to the proposed implementation ordinance include:

  • Allowing employers to cap an employee’s accrual of sick leave at 80 hours;
  • Allowing employers to front load no less than 40 hours of sick leave to an employee at the beginning of each benefit year;
  • Designating an Enforcement Office and Enforcement Official and establishing a system to receive and adjudicate complaints; and
  • Clarifying language in the ordinance to be more consistent with the state paid sick leave law.

The City Council conducted the first reading of the implementing ordinance on July 11. A second reading is scheduled for July 26.

See the Office of the Treasurer’s website for updated information about the ordinance

The California  Chamber of Commerce San Diego City Labor Laws poster is available for pre-order by calling (800) 331-8877.

HRCalifornia members can find more information on local minimum wage ordinances and paid sick leave ordinances in the HR Library’s Paid Sick Leave section and in the Comparison of California State and Local Paid Sick Leave Laws chart.

Not a member? See how CalChamber can help you.

Staff Contact: Erika Frank